News and Events

Department of Engineering 25/10/2021

IEEE Online Campaign for AY 2021-2022

The IEEE UTAS-Ibra Student Branch conducted a Campaign on IEEE Membership on October 20, 2021, from 12:30 - 1:30 PM via the MS Team platform and participated by 25 participants.

This event aimed to introduce the membership benefits that a student can obtain by acquiring an IEEE student membership.

The speaker was Ms. Amani Yaqoob Said Sawad Al-Rahbi, IEEE UTAS-Ibra Student Branch Chair. Ms. Amani explained the benefits of acquiring a student membership in IEEE. During the session, she explained how to access journals and magazines, e-books and other research articles apart from the importance of Professional Networking of an IEEE member. She also added that a member can take advantage of having a career asset manager, resume lab, educational grants and various competitions. The female students were encouraged by introducing the “Women in Engineering” group in IEEE, which is dedicated and inspired by the women engineers and scientists in the organization. It will provide support to enhance skills and follow academic interests in an Engineering career.

She also explained about MGM (Member Get a Member) scheme in which a member can earn a good amount of money during the membership year. The IEEE Student Members can also join IEEE Communities like Smart Cities, Big Data, Smart Grid, IoT, etc., for free. Also, Students that are joining the IEEE communities can get free access to Webinars and publications.

Ms. Amani also shared the historical information of the IEEE Oman section, the External events organized by UTAS-Ibra during AY 2020-2021 and the award received - as the “Most Active Branch in Oman” for the year 2020.

She also mentioned that the IEEE - Ibra submitted a proposal to conduct the Student Young Professional (SYP - 2022) Congress for Region 8 and another proposal to conduct SYP-2022 at the national level. It indeed shows the active participation and enthusiasm of IEEE-Ibra in many activities on the national level.

The organizing committee includes Dr. K. Shamganth, IEEE-UTAS-Ibra Branch Counsellor, Mr. V. Loganathan, IEEE-UTAS - Ibra Student Branch Coordinator, Ms. K. Santoshi, IEEE-Professional member, Eng Dept, Mr P. Ramesh, IEEE-Professional member IT Dept., Mr Syed Zakir, IEEE-Professional member, Eng Dept. Dr. Praveen N, IEEE-Professional member, Eng Dept. Mr. Jeyadevan S, IEEE-Professional member, Eng Dept. Mr. Manikandan T R, IEEE-Professional member, Eng Dept. Mr. Sreekanth N, IEEE-Professional member, Eng Dept

Page generated in 0.019 seconds on 04-16-2024 10:56:14
Updated: 25/10/2021 08:41:29 AM